Happenings

Events

4 INDIGENOUS CONVERSATIONS

Join CIM for 4 one-half hour conversations on Native American Heritage Day and Thanksgiving weekend.  These short conversations are arranged so you might use them over this season to promote conversations with friends and family and in congregational gatherings.  Each conversation is 30 minutes so they don’t keep you away from gathering with folk (and if you have folk at the house and they would like to join, wonderful, welcome them along!)  Simply watch the suggested videos (or read the essay), request a zoom link (same link for all three days), and join us at the appointed hour for 30 minutes of conversation!

Time: 9am PT, 10am MT, 11am CT, 12pm ET, 1pm AT

November 23: Historical Complexities of Native Identity—Joshua Shawnee, Shawnee and Delaware
November 24: Disciples and Frontier—Rev. Dr. Lisa Barnett, Ph.D.
November 25: Covenantal Relationship (see Sept. 22 Posting)—Crow Eddy, Mi’kmaq, Rev. Dr. Lisa Barnett, Ph.D., Rev. Dr. Laurie Pound Feille
November 26: Indian Child Welfare Act (Currently before US Supreme Court)

Zoom Link Email Request (Write—4 Conversations—in the subject line) info@centerforindigenousministries.org

Restorative Pilgrimages

190614

Standing Rock Reservation, North Dakota, US
June 6-12, 2022

Youth are invited to experience the landscape of the Standing Rock reservation.  The weeklong experience is centered on listening closely to the local landscape and then conversing on the state of Indigenous justice.  (A few scholarships may be available.)

Registration

190519a2
Yakama Reservation, Washington, US
July 10-16, 2022

Youth and elders are invited to experience the landscape of the Standing Rock reservation.  The weeklong experience is centered on listening closely to the local landscape and then conversing on the state of Indigenous justice.  

Registration

bearsearsdavid-kellylatimes

Bears Ears: 

November 4-8, 2022

People will gather, hike, and experience the Bears Ears landscape through ten lenses: Spirituality, Cosmos/Stars, Art, Law, Food, Geology, Water, Soil, Wind, and Plants.  Each day there is an opportunity to hike and experience the landscape on foot.  Morning and evening meals are in the place of gathering.  Lunch is often on the trial.  Each evening we will consider the place of that day through the ten lenses.

170105sr
Arkansas, Tulsa, Nova Scotia
TBD

Youth and elders are invited to experience the landscape of the Standing Rock reservation.  The weeklong experience is centered on listening closely to the local landscape and then conversing on the state of Indigenous justice.